The next thing

The last week of this diet is supposed to be “Tiger Blood” but honestly I feel -however cleansed, however stronger in odd ways- drained.   I think, “I’m hungry” but … I don’t want any more allowed fats, I don’t want any more protein, and I don’t want any more fruit or veg.  I want dairy.  I was thinking, “I’d eat carrots” until I realized I just wanted the butter I cook the carrots in… Oy.

I’m going to get through but I don’t have to be cheering.  Instead, I spent some time flipping through my copy of Nourishing Traditions, which is my “next thing”.

The value of a hard reset like this is that you get your taste buds and your habits rewired.  Plus, after a month of extremely restricted eating, taking more time and trouble to get the best food value is less scary.  And I *do* feel better.

(Saying that I simultaneously feel better and worse is confusing, for which I apologize, I’ll try again.  I’d bogged up with sugar and wheat and eating progressively larger portions of rice and walked away from what I know to be best practice.  And my body felt it.   I was tired all the time, I was sugar dependent for that energy “bounce”, I was just run-down.  So – I don’t feel like that anymore.  My energy is constant.  My workouts show that my body is running properly.  I know I got the gunk out of my system.  But.  I just can’t get enough calories on this diet.  I’ve had two friends shake their heads at me… but I eat a LOT.  And since I’ve been hungry (no I don’t want any more eggs!) for a while now, I just feel depleted.  I will take July and cherish myself and refeed -very carefully- so as to get past this feeling of being drained without regaining weight.  I feel… well, I guess a good analogy is how you feel on antibiotics.  You can feel that the infection is gone, but the nausea gets old fast.  That’s what I’m saying.  I feel cleansed, but … I’m hungry, and being hungry makes me tired – deep tired, not surface tired.  If anything, the hunger makes it difficult to rest.)

So, what to do?  Well, I had toyed with staying Primal after the time was over, but I think my aim is going to be Nourishing Traditions instead.   What does that mean?  It means that I’m going to keep my sauce mojo going – my family LOVES sauces, and NT is heavy on sauce.  It means that I’m going to embrace ferments.  We already love kefir (well, sweetened kefir), yogurt, and sauerkraut.  It’s a little warm for much in the way of soup, but I can try a few cold soups – oh, how I can feel my body hungering for good soup. (Actually this reminds me, I think I’m going to drag some chicken broth out of the freezer, I think that will help my hunger).

It also means that I’m going to try some “properly prepared” (aka NT) grains when I’m doing my reintroduction.  Am I wheat intolerant, or do I just need it soaked?  (I think I am wheat intolerant, but I’m going to try spelt and see where that gets me – I know oats and rye like me).

I want to return to a diet that is truly health-enhancing for my body, a diet that helps me do the things I want to do – there are so very many things I want to do!

I also want to lose weight, and I want to feel good while I do it.  If I can find the foods that my body wants, I can give it those foods, and just reduce the amount slightly.   I know that crash diets are bad juju.

So, that’s where I’m going next – NT.  Have I done it before?  Eh.  I’ve done a few bits of it before, but *before* I thought halfway was good enough.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned… halfway is NOT good enough!!!

 

5 thoughts on “The next thing

  1. goingtothefields

    Hooray for spelt! I love it. Glad you stuck with it but also glad you’re almost done. I felt similarly about W30. Just, not satisfied with the food after awhile.

    Do the re-entry protocol with wheat. It will tell you a lot. 💜

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      I’m looking forward to seeing if I can use old grains instead of wheat. It would make life a lot easier. and let’s face it, rice-flour baked goods don’t … yeah, no.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. goingtothefields

        I buy my whole spelt (you can also get flour) from Great River Organics on Amazon. Pricey. Worth it.

        I’ve tried to grow spelt from the whole berries I buy. That shouldn’t surprise you, I hope. I have the right climate but not the right equipment or land mass for harvesting enough for the family needs. So I buy it and pay a premium for it. As I said. Worth it.

        I might also have a flour mill at home to grind spelt, etc. on demand.

        Y’all know I’m crunchy like burnt granola though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. hearthie Post author

        They have spelt at my grocery store. $$. I’ll try some and make it into biscuits next week. I do love some good biscuits. (I did some scouting this morning. WTheck is up with steel cut oats in the bins being 1/4 the price of steel cut oats from Bob’s? NT says bins are evillllllllll… I dunno… I dunno if they’re all THAT evil…)

        As for crunchy… I have a 1horsepower meat grinder (from back when you could find lump meat cheaper than ground). I’d totally have a grain mill if I got back into baking. Or if my kitchen was larger than a walk-in closet.

        Like

Leave a Reply

