Back in the saddle… (workout/W30update)

yoke 6 17

Had to take a few weeks off of BBC ’cause of that minor surgery.  I know this is going to sound ridiculous and counterintuitive – but I got so stiff when I wasn’t lifting!  My lower back was a slab… and then I went in on Monday and got to play, finishing out with carrying the 185lb yoke down the parking lot.  And I got home and my lower back was happy again.  (Other things were sore, but soreness from workouts passes quickly enough).

Played again last night, laughed, did banded benchpresses… it’s all good.  😀  (BBC is definitely a CLUB – we laugh a good bit).

Whole 30 update:  Today is day 9.  Last couple of days the sugar DTs have been irritating, but they seem to be fading out a bit.  It’s definitely emotional irritation more than physical at this point.  So, that’s good.   13yo is having an easyish time of it, which makes me happy.

We don’t seem to like coconut cream as a substitute for dairy.  We like it IN things that want that coconut flavor, or subtle sweetness, but ranch dressing?  Fail.  I changed the ranch dressing recipe – instead of coconut, I added more oil, and used seasonings from the Joy of Cooking.  Win.  It didn’t have the tang of buttermilk, but it was tasty.   We’re eating a TON of salad, which makes DH happy.  He and 16yo are basically fine with the food as long as they can have a side of rice or a tortilla or something.  As 16yo said, “You’re making more sauces and more meat, what’s not to like?”  (My family LOVES sauce).

Anyway.  There’s your status report.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Back in the saddle… (workout/W30update)

  1. Elspeth

    So glad you are back to full strength because I know how much that means to you.

    On the salad dressing, I actually got a used to the coconut milk as a sub in some sauces but there are times -I agree- that you don’t really want that coconut flavor and have to go another route. I like your avocado idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Bike bubba

    I get what you mean by being sore when not working out….I remember one time I was doing basic squats, no weight, and a coworker came up and asked if I suffered from a lot of back pain. When I said no, and asked why he asked, he noted that his doctor had told him to do exactly what I was doing to help him with his back.

    Dumb me, I thought I was just exercising!

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      LOL. the only time I can really remember hurting my lower back with squats is when (Crossfit being crossfit) we had to do 100. In a row. Somehow form got lost…. :p

      Or I guess when I was lifting heavy before I put in all that core work. Core’s important even if it’s not fun.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

