Proportion

http://goodbyevalentino.com/refashioned-linen-dress-a-foot-to-spare/

Go take a look at the dress pictured, before and after.  This is possibly the best explanation I could ever give for “why tiny people should wear miniskirts after 40”.   Not mini-minis, but skirts above the knee.

When I am at my proper weight, I’ll wear this length too.  I’m 5’2″ – for those of us who are very short (5’4″ and south), wearing a longer skirt can look like playing dress up in Mommy’s clothes.

It’s not about sexy, it’s about proportion.

12 thoughts on “Proportion

  1. Elspeth

    Wow! You’re right. It’s pretty startling how much better she looks in the shorter dress.

    At 5’9″ I’m in a different category but I will certainly consider the overall principle (proportion) as I continue to tweak my own look.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      With your height and slim calves, you look amazing in tea-length skirts, and “knee length” about 2″ below your kneecap with fitted skirts.

      Like

      Reply
  2. goingtothefields

    I’m 5’6″ and have these unfortunate giant thighs so tea length works well for me. I loved the refashion of the dress, though. I wear heels occasionally when out and about, which helps my lines. Too short a hem isn’t comfortable for me. Stuff starts squishing out the sides. A-line suits me because it leaves room for squish but doesn’t show it off.

    Like

    Reply
      1. hearthie Post author

        Yep, that’s what I said alright… 😀 See, I have a butt like yours in my house. It’s just not attached to me.
        But she doesn’t get a wiggle skirt for a few more years.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Elspeth

    I got Bright Eyes a lace, knee length, navy pencil skirt from this trendy consignment shop we recently discovered.

    She’s actually gonna wear it!! After we take the waist in, LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Friday Frivolities 3: Els’ Potpourri | Things I Wish I'd Known Sooner

  5. annasach

    Tea length? I feel so unhip. I need to be made hip! (It’s a long, difficult process from clueless nerd to knowing how to dress myself​).

    I like these kinds of examples though. Really shows the difference the right clothes make!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Elspeth

      I had t do a search to nail down what “tea length” indicated also, so put me in the less fashion forward class too!

      I did find out that I tend to gravitate toward either street length or maxis. Tea length almost never registers. It feels like an awkward length for me.

      Like

      Reply
      1. hearthie Post author

        I find that (at 5’2″) I wear *very* long (and wide) skirts best. Illusion of height/waistline. But I need every inch to keep from appearing dowdy – I wear them just an inch or two over my feet. Anything shorter and I get stubbier by the millimeter.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

