Plate spinning, projects, and happiness

I’ve been trying to sort my head out … that “minor medical procedure” has meant no lifting time, no hot baths, and no intimacy for two weeks and counting.  Guess what I spend a lot of time doing?  And then I beat myself up for being a bit nuts.  -eyeroll-  Also, I’m low-energy and need to chill out and heal.   Things to be doing – but not me to be doing them.  -sigh-

So I went to the place where I wanted to be stricter with myself – “Self, you need to reduce your spinning plates!  You’ve got too much going, that’s why you’re unhappy!”  I wanted to do that… but the plates I can take off the spinners are the plates that bring me most of my satisfaction.

I brought the whole mess to God, and He said,

Philippians 3:13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, 14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

And I stopped.   I guilt myself up one side and down the other … but what I’ve been doing is pressing forward.  I haven’t dropped those plates.  Yeah, the time between spinning ’em has gotten long, but they’re still spinning.   I haven’t given up my dreams.  This season has been weighty, and I’m going to be taking lessons in time management and energy management from it.  But it’s just a season.

When my coach puts giant rubber bands around my weights in the gym, increasing the resistance, it makes me stronger.  Just because I don’t feel stronger in that moment, just because I can’t handle as many plates on the bar in that moment, it doesn’t mean that when the rubber bands go away, I won’t show improvement.

When this season is over (soon?) I will be able to move forward like a rocket because of the resistance training I’ve been doing all Spring.

I have to be less mean to me.

I’ve got dreams, and I’m gonna go get ’em.   Just you watch.

2 thoughts on “Plate spinning, projects, and happiness

  1. superslaviswife

    Too many plates, I know the feeling! Scheduling tasks and setting deadlines really helped me focus. As well as putting some stuff on the backburner. I blame the school system for making me so intent on doing a million things a week.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

