Unified Field Theory: Food

13yo and I are gearing up to start Whole 30 for the month of June.  I’m totally looking forward to this – I need a reset badly.  13yo is finally ready to lose weight, and she’s looking in the mirror at her poor food habits and not liking what she sees.  (I don’t fool myself into thinking it’s going to be a breeze for either of us, but … she’s ready).

Do I think that the extreme version of Paleo that Whole 30 represents is the optimum diet plan for life?  No.

I think it’s a reset, a way to get your body clean and your ears ready to hear your body telling you what it needs – and needs to avoid.

I *think* that Nourishing Traditions is the optimum diet plan for life – and that’s because while I think that there are some good hard and fast rules for food (it’s fuel – GIGO applies; don’t eat fake food; avoid chemicals; too much sugar is bad; everyone should eat a lot of vegetation; ferments are awesome), from there the “perfect diet” differs from person to person, from life-stage to life-stage, from activity to activity.

I have a friend that does very well on a nearly-pure vegan diet, with odd meat-cheats.   High fat makes her sick.  Dairy disagrees with her, even hard cheese is too much.   If you give chocolate to my BFF’s son, you deserve what’s going to happen to you in about an hour.  *I* won’t be in range, thankyouverymuch.

I have friends who eat grains happily, in health.   My mom is 75yo and can still drink (and enjoy) liquid milk.   I know someone with a disease that means she has to mainline salt!  She has to eat so much of it that she gets sick of it.

I find that a too-low-fat diet makes me Eeyore very quickly, and that cruciferous veggies are my BFFs – as long as they’re cooked.  Well, second only to raw sauerkraut, to which I am developing a serious addiction.   If I’m lifting, magically I want to eat more protein.  I know that too much sugar is terrible for me, and that my threshold for “too much” is rather a lot lower than I’d like it to be.

 

WHY should we all eat one diet?  That would be stupid.    But whole foods?  We should all eat those.  Food sourcing matters.  Pesticides and herbicides matter.

I don’t think that the ideal involves us making food an idol, either.   And I’m not even saying everything in moderation – I think differently.  I think we should have feasts, and special times to enjoy the most wonderful flavors and sensory experiences that we can conjure up.   But I believe that we should SHARE those experiences, so that we enjoy them for a moment, and then that moment is over.

Bad food is like wearing weights.  You don’t want to burden yourself with the bad stuff on the regular, you don’t want to eat party food on the daily.  On the day to day, you want to eat good food that makes you feel incredible, that makes you feel strong and smart and clear and light.

Whatever that prescription is for you, that’s what you should eat.   And you should drink lots of clean water, avoid other chemicals as you can, put clean things on your skin and hair – do as much good for yourself as you can.

Anyway.  That’s what I think.  And I’m going to do the reset, and I’ll let you know how that goes.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Unified Field Theory: Food

  1. elspeth

    I completely agree that Whole30 is best approached as a reset rather than a permanent way of life, although some people do adopt it as their lifestyle.

    On the day today, you want to eat good food that makes you feel incredible, that makes you feel strong and smart and clear and light.

    One of the ways we tackle this is by only eating baked goods that we desired enough to actually go into the kitchen and bake. Same with french fries 90% of the time. If you want ’em bad enough, go in the kitchen, cut up potatoes, and double fry them to get the crisp texture that makes them so good.

    This isn’t 100% foolproof, but it goes a long way towards keeping the junk to a minimum.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Moderation- in moderation- is better than extremes. | Things I Wish I'd Known Sooner

  3. goingtothefields

    Excellent! I look forward to hearing how it goes.

    I’ve had to face up to the fact that I restrict too often, set weird food rules for myself, and then go nuts and stress eat for days, to my detriment. I can’t seem to depress my weight, if I lose a few pounds, they come right back on despite maintaining my food intake and exercise. Set points are real, I think.

    A lot of people at my gym are into bodybuilding and the accompanying diets. They’re healthy and look great, but I get so sad looking at the food list and thinking I can’t have a fresh apricot, and that ripe tomatoes from my garden are off limits (most bodybuilding diets are indeed this restrictive). I have to be mentally healthy, too…

    Best of luck! And when you’re done I’ll bake a sourdough boule in your honor. 😘

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Most of the people at my gym are not obsessive about getting cut, which is nice. They do all these crazy things, like run triathalons … but they don’t care about getting cut. Excepting during our yearly Whole 30 competition when a couple of the guys were doing olive oil shots to stave off hunger (like tequila shots), I rarely hear the gymmies talk food.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

