Titus 2: Being one of the “halt”

I was just watching a youtube video, and one of the ladies deals with an autoimmune disorder, and she talked about how she gets things done during the day with this permanent physical setback.

I don’t talk about being one of the halt very much.  Since I started working out, I’m much less restricted than any of my doctors ever gave me the idea that I might be.   And I figure it’s kinda boring.  But then I heard her talk about how she does life, and … it’s how I do life too.  Maybe someone out there needs this or will need this at some point.  So, here you go.

How do I keep house when I have trouble with my foot?  When standing for hours takes a toll, when energetic walking takes a toll, how do I do the jobs associated with housekeeping?  How do I do mom stuff and do fun things?

  1. I take things in bits, and I sit and I rest in between the bits.
  2. I recognize my limitations and that I will pay to go beyond those limits.
  3. Where I am not limited, I work as hard as I can.
  4. I try not to focus on the things I can’t do.
  5. Keep hope.

The first hint is – do as much as you can in a chunk, then go sit down and do something sitting for a while then get back up and go after it.   Depending on where you are in the healing journey, those “work” chunks and “rest” chunks will be different sizes.  The thing is to just realize you can accomplish quite a lot in chunks – you don’t have to power through!  (The second thing is not to excuse your new WoW habit with your limitations).   Doing the dishes is a task.  Then sit down.  Doing a load of laundry is a task.  Then sit down.  Cleaning *a* floor is a task.  Then sit down.  You get the idea.

Second – if you, like me, are permanently changed… will movement harm you, or does it simply cause discomfort?  If it’s the latter – sometimes you’re going to be willing to pay the piper.   This means that yes, when we go to an amusement park, I walk all day and stand on concrete all day, and by about 2pm I’m limping… and I don’t care.   I’ll pay to have that time with my family.  Same thing for holiday food prep where I’m up all the day long on my feet.  Or even today – I had *one* day this week where I’d be home to clean house, and I have family coming in this weekend.  My foot is stiff and achy right now, but my house is clean.  Worth the price.  Tomorrow will be a more restful day.  After the dentist.  :p

Third – do everything you can where you can, and celebrate when you find those places you can work.  I was over the moon when I found out that in crossfit, I could row instead of run.  And then I found lifting.  More good solid exercise, and my foot can stay out of it.  WIN.  Sewing doesn’t require me to stand (much), writing doesn’t require that I stand, I can put more energy into those things.

Fourth – I wish I could run.  I’ve gotten more fit, I think I might actually be able to enjoy it, might actually be able to learn how to do it properly.   But the cost is too high – my foot would swell up and hurt and make it difficult to do life stuff.   I adore hiking.  I can have a bit of a hike, but nothing like I used to enjoy.  I might take an evening job at a book store… yeah, if I didn’t have to stand the whole time.   I need to *know* those things, but *dwelling* on those things doesn’t advance the plot.  Figuring out how to do the things I need/want to do – that helps me.

Fifth – Keep hoping.  Two years ago, when I started CF, one of my Christmas presents was a walking stick – and it helped, so much, with my walking.  No shame.  But now I don’t have to use a stick to walk a mile or two.  I’m *better*.  Sometimes you might get better.  Keep taking care of yourself, keep pushing, keep working towards health and wholeness.  Don’t give up.  Incremental improvements are still improvements – don’t sneeze at them.  And don’t count God out of the game – He might have something wonderful in store.

But in the meantime, do a bit, sit a bit, and keep at it – you can accomplish more than you imagine, if you just keep forward momentum.

Leave a Reply

