A really confusing week, exercise/dietwise

So, I’m trying to find balance between lifting and CF, eating and losing weight.  I’m not actually TRYING to gain muscle, I’m just trying to get stronger/better at lifting, so it kind of happens.   I’m not after the aesthetic.  I want to be thinner.

Joined barbell club week before last.  LOVED IT.  Crossfit is often hard on me – I’m 43 and I haven’t done anything with athletics at all before last March when I found CF.  A video, a little gym time, swimming in the summer, maybe some yoga, a few dance classes (epic fail) – but I don’t run, I don’t play sports, and my cardio is pathetic.   (CF will boost your endurance like nothing else, if you’re looking for that.  Not *nicely*, but it gets the job done).  CF has a lot of cardio.  Oh yeah, “lifting weights faster”. Yeah.  YOU try a few thrusters or a set of wall-balls and get back to me about your heart rate.  Sometimes that cardio can be a lot.  It’s good for me, I need it – but it’s a lot.

So in BBC, you warm up and stretch, then spend a glorious hour and a half lifting.  Just lifting.   I know I gush at y’all about this from time to time, but I really love lifting.  Finally to find something your body is good at is such joy.

Last week I hit BBC twice and CF once (DH says I can only do 3 classes/wk, I get too wiped out).  That’s about 5 hours in the gym, total.  We did enough core work that my appetite was reduced, and I lifted enough weight that I was seriously craving protein.  So, I skewed my meals protein heavy/carb light.  And I ate less than I normally do (I wasn’t counting calories, just vaguely paying attention).   That sounds great, right?

Yeah, sure.  Thursday before BBC I was tired, but I carb loaded a little bit (this means I ate a potato for lunch) and went in.  Friday I was yard trash.  SO tired, and starving.  Saturday I was better, still low-energy and still carb-craving.  Loaded a ridiculous dessert last night.  This morning I got up, put my hands on my thighs as I was sitting down and… what?  That’s a flat bit.  My thighs got thinner.  (Visually confirmed with DH.  He says it’s slight but there.  No photo for you).  (Oh, and I don’t feel like yard trash today.  I feel fine. Not super bouncy, but tots fine).

I have to find balance.   I have to find the sweet spot where I’m eating enough not to feel like dog food … not so much that I gain weight, I’m trying to *lose* weight.  Coach says if I just eat clean I can eat as much as I want.  Which is awesome, but … tricky.  I’m good at following my healthy cravings, but this week I didn’t crave as much as I clearly needed to take in.

And while you’re thinking about creative advice, BBC is at night… so if you have mini-meals that are good to send you off to a happy night’s sleep, please advise.   I might start eating sandwiches, if I can find bread that doesn’t bug me.

Thursday Night’s w/o:

warmup of 400m row + 5 airsquats + stretching + overhead squats w/band etc.

Then… 3 sets of 5 overhead squats www.bodybuilding.com/fun/images/2014/the-overhead-squat_what-is-it-good-for_graphics_pursuit-rx-1.jpg (42lb – BBC is about form)
5 Sets of 3 hang snatch www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwi42pnlj7vOAhUDySYKHQwWChUQjBwIBA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.crossfitignitesydney.com.au%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2011%2F12%2FGirl-Hang-Snatch.jpg&psig=AFQjCNF73Ua0jIo5ADL2JRRQYNolo920Cg&ust=1471065372953896 (42lb – I did more than that, form again)
3 sets of 8 floor presses (just bench presses on the floor) (62lb)
3 sets of 3 1 arm dumbbell snatches (I ended up doing more, which is normal. Form is focus in BBC – 15 lb, then another set of sets w/20lb) www.motherfitness.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/one-arm-snatch.jpg

8 rounds of plank, tabata style (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off) (Cruel and unusual punishment)
50 full situps with abmat

Leave a Reply

