Hair Follies

This is for the girls… ’cause we were talking about going grey.  If you’ve been following the Hair Adventures obsessively (which worries me) you might remember that I started putting in blonde highlights when my hair started going silver, then I didn’t like the effect, so I stopped.

It wasn’t the highlights so much as my stylist’s … well.  Someone tells me she shouldn’t have needed to dye over the highlights to cool down the tone.  That kind of made the whole thing moot, ’cause the dye-over to cool the tone down dyed out my silver!  So much for cleverly camoing the silver in with gold.

I like my silver hair, even though it’s not my color and I probably will do something else with it eventually.  Maybe I’ll dye-over a light blonde, give my hair as a whole a warm cast and golden up the silver?  Don’t worry – I will consult a professional!

This is what it looks like now.  What bugs me is that the corners of my hair are very short, baby fine, and *white*, so I don’t have as much hair there as I used to (although I do have hair) but oy – it looks like I’m going bald.   😦  Front pic so you can see that nope, I’m going *white*.

Hair is white-white-silver-white, not grey, not at all grey.  It’s very difficult to take pix of white hair, if you’d wondered.  Here you go – quick pix after a day at the zoo, well-covered with shiny sunscreen.  🙂

 

Adding a pic of the new cut ’cause.  Also, I was pretty traumatized not to be allowed a light bang  – I wanted it to soften up the face, but the corner situation here means I don’t have the hair to make it work.  There is no woman on any planet who wants to be told she doesn’t have enough hair.  But oh well!

Cut 6″ or so off the back, see how much healthier it is?   Okay, it was full of product and had been blown straight and could use some brushing, not idly tossing over my shoulder… but soooo much better.

DSC04646

19 thoughts on “Hair Follies

    1. hearthie Post author

      My mom is firm on “no pix on the internet” or I would show you what was coming next in grey-land. The only question is how quickly it turns. My uncle was snow-white at 60, Mom is about 50/50 salt and pepper at 74. I will add a pic of the new cut. SO HAPPY TO CHANGE STYLISTS. Got a lot of damage removed. I know, seeing crazy women cut 6″ off their hair probably makes you flinch, but I just can’t deal with crunchy ends. BFF asked me if I’d gotten new highlights, it looks that much happier. :p

      Like

      Reply
    2. hearthie Post author

      My mom is firm on “no pix on the internet” or I would show you what was coming next in grey-land. The only question is how quickly it turns. My uncle was snow-white at 60, Mom is about 50/50 salt and pepper at 74. I will add a pic of the new cut. SO HAPPY TO CHANGE STYLISTS. Got a lot of damage removed. I know, seeing crazy women cut 6″ off their hair probably makes you flinch, but I just can’t deal with crunchy ends. BFF asked me if I’d gotten new highlights, it looks that much happier. :p

      Okay. I’ll probably add highlights once I build up trust with the new stylist. DH loved it. Everyone loved it. Just $$ and maintenance, but hello, new life of me. 😛

      PS I LOVE THE NEW HAIR – soooooooooo cute. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Stingray

    Your gray looks almost exactly like mine, only mine is shorter because I plucked it for a long time. 😆

    I’ve stopped doing that and I’m just letting it grow now. My hair is quite curly and almost the same color as yours. Only, I can’t get mine to grow nearly as long or luxurious. Your hair is beautiful. It suits you. I like it. Also, I don’t think it looks like your going bald in that front picture. It looks like you’ve been in the sun to me.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Thankies. Well, Mom is a good example of embracing the grey, which I appreciate. You probably could grow it if it weren’t so curly. It might be as long as mine is with the curl out. My secret is “don’t use a blow dryer”. 😀

      Like

      Reply
      1. Stingray

        Yeah, my hair is more than halfway down my back when it’s straight. It curls up a lot. Also, I never use a blow dryer. I haven’t for years, only my hair still gets quite dry. It’s part of having the curly hair.

        I like the blond highlights. That is what I was thinking of going for if I did decide to color it someday. It’s subtle.

        Like

  2. fiberaddict

    Love the cut!

    I have been blonde since birth. Honey-blonde for the last decade or so. My grays? Have made me go almost platinum in the sun. I’m not complaining – I like my blonde locks! – it’s just hard to adjust to the lack of color I’m getting now.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      yeah. Best thing to do is go with it and reduce the intensity of the color you wear near your face in general – worst thing to do (and you’ve seen it!) is dye your hair the color it was when you were 25 (this is muuuuch worse on brunettes) because it looks so fake. 😛

      Blondes grey really well.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Cassie

        worst thing to do (and you’ve seen it!) is dye your hair the color it was when you were 25 (this is muuuuch worse on brunettes) because it looks so fake. 😛

        Hmm. This is what I had always planned to do one day whenever I start turning grey. (If I’m lucky enough to be like my Mom and her sisters in that regard, it won’t be until the mid to late 40’s… fingers crossed!) I was just gonna dye it my natural color to cover up the grey. But I’m kind of a brunette, albeit a light one (my hair is roughly Ash Brown, being lighter after the Summer due to sun highlights). I’d rather not dye it a drastically different color, but don’t really wanna embrace the grey right away either 😛 ….

        I’m REALLY hoping I do take after my Mom, since at 31 I’d have a long ways to go.

        Like

      2. hearthie Post author

        You dye it a softer version, not the harder version. If you have very dark hair, you dye it a medium-dark color. It’s a subtle thing. Your skin color softens as you age as well, so if you keep your hair the same saturated color it is now, it will look odd. So, dye it your sun-bleached color, not your “it’s February and I’ve not seen the sun in months” color. Make more sense? Observe some older ladies with obvious dye jobs and you’ll see what I mean.

        Like

  3. Elspeth

    Ok. I haven’t the faintest idea of what color my hair was when I was 25. My skin looks the same to me though. I will send you a young pic of me later today Hearth. I don’t know how much we caramel and darker women change tones.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Not as much and not as fast, and you start out more saturated/brighter than we do (and able to wear more saturated/brighter colors). Probably at your “aged” color scheme you’d wear the richer colors that I’d recommend to a woman our age who had your coloring and was white. The loss of vibrance due to age comes to us all, but we start in different spots. You could google pix of elderly black ladies? IOW, we all get ‘dusty’.

      BTW: If I could wave my magic fairy wand, I would induce women of color to crank up their color game the way you see the women with the darkest skin use color in fashion spreads, or the way African women wearing traditional clothing use color. No sense throttling back the fabulous. (And I have a redheaded child-friend who wears the most unusual shades. I’d like to see her rock those ethereal colors too.) God made us different AND beautiful, so we should wallow in both. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Elspeth

        Oh yeah. For sure we get old same as everyone else, but I was wondering if -for me- the changes needed to be more in the area of angles, lines, cut, and whatnot more than a focus on subdued color per se. For example, I personally felt I am way to old to embrace the idea of a big chop even though I thought it was fine that our girls did it.

        Since 1) Besides the orange that wear well, I don’t really *do* bright colors and never have and 2) the decrease in vibrancy, the dustiness if you will, is much less stark in black women until maybe the mid 60’s, which for me is still a little ways off, I’m wondering how to address the color issue in ways that are different from what I already wear.

        Like

      2. hearthie Post author

        Softer lines, saturated (not bright) colors – of course your personal palette runs to saturated, rich colors, so have fun and go swimming. You should look like yourself – classy, interesting, wearing colors with depth and fabrics that drape and show your figure to advantage. If I could get you into something, it would be satin blouses. But too-bright colors and hard lines have never been you. Accessorize with gold, that warms everything up, brights brightness without conflicting with your coloring.

        IOW, ditch the cheap polyknit that fades five washes after you buy it. Your skin has a glow, I want your clothes to enhance that. (I’m bossy because it’s like the angel in the marble, I can see this in my mind’s eye). Depth, depth, depth.

        Like

  4. Ace

    Hearth,
    Your stylist is using a toner because of the way your hair lifted or bleached. It either lifted too much (white) or too little (brassy tones) so she “cooled” it down by correcting it. It takes some time to know how a clients hair lifts, but it looks like she lifted way too much to make you blonde and then wasnt able to correct it properly. You need someone who will cover your grey roots on a monthly basis in a good base color that will usually match the darkest tone in your natural hair color AND will weave in both high and low lights in brown shades (like caramel and the lighter toffee) to make it look natural. A good stylist will do this. I think you should bite the bullet and get a consult with a master colorist. They are expensive but worth their weight in gold. Get on their rotation and they will give you a good deal. You can get away with fake jewelry or a cheap dress but never, ever go cheap on hair color. It will wreck everything else you do. You can usually get away with a monthly root touch up and a small bit of highlights at your hair line and part just a few times a year.
    Many blessings!

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Hi Ace! Good to see you. 🙂
      I’m actually happy to have the silver – I wanted silver *and* gold. For now I’m running natural (which got me compliments after my last cut, people thought that was highlighted). When I get comfy with the new stylist, I’ll let him have a go at putting in a *few* highlights, but just a few. Absolutely agree you can’t compromise on hair – or, “why I have a new stylist”.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Ace

    Good to see you too. I still peek in at you every now and then. Glad to see you are well.
    Guess how I know so much about hair color lol. The disasters are way more expensive then my master colorist lol.

    Many Blessing:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

