Easter Dress: 11yo

My Sadly Neglected Sewing Pile has gone down by one item… a new dress for 11yo.  This fabric came from Fabricmart.  It’s a lovely cotton voile – absolutely tissue thin.  I lined it with a white cotton from the local fabric store – a light shirtweight, really I’d call it sheeting.  003

The dress is fully lined, which made my life easier.  I hate facings.  And it made all the bits and bobs of construction disappear… fully lined garments FTW.  (Not that one could fail to fully line voile – it’s see through!).

11yo will wear this for Easter, and almost certainly before then.  The pattern is Simplicity 1419.  I hacked the bodice quite a lot, but I have to in order to fit 11yo.  Tweens.  Half the body of an adult, half the body of a child.  Like to shout out to Taylor Swift for making certain that my tween doesn’t have one moment of hesitation about wearing a sweet dress.  (She was very pleased by the lace addition to the collar, which is self-drafted).   It’s a good pattern, basic and cute.  11yo has another dress from this, in cotton flannel.

Hand sewn outer hem, sleeve hem, lining-to-zipper.  Machine sewn everything else, and so pleased I know the order of assembly for a lined garment now!  Oy, life is so much easier.    It’s nicely made, and I’m pleased with it.

Next………..

2 thoughts on “Easter Dress: 11yo

Leave a Reply

