Things I enjoy that are good for me

I’ve been told, quite emphatically, that I need to chill the heck out in 2016.

So, I’m going to concentrate on things that I really *truly* enjoy, things that are good for me.

  1.  I am going to eat more selfishly in the New Year.  That means I’m going to buy stuff at the store that I like to eat, I’m going to cook it, and I’m going to have lunches that I really LIKE.  I really like beets.  I really like nuts.  I really like cooked greens.  I like sharp cheese and eggs.  I’m going to eat them.
  2. I’m going to get more time in the gym.  Talked about that enough.
  3. I’m going to sew stuff I like.
  4. I’m going to say what I mean.
  5. I’m going to do the things that are important to me.
  6. I’m going to narrow down a bit.  I’m cast too wide right now, trying to be all things to all people.
  7. I’m going to spend more time at the beach.
  8. I’m going to do different stuff
  9. I’m going to have fun, even if it kills me

What do you really like, that really likes you back?

What are you saying “no” to, because it mistakenly feels selfish?

4 thoughts on “Things I enjoy that are good for me

  1. superslaviswife

    I LOVE berries and I’ve just properly dug into all the information on resveratrols and sirtuin and now I’m convinced to eat them daily. I used to think the expense wasn’t worth it, but for radiant skin and a healthier body into old age, I’m perfectly happy to eat a pile of blueberries a day.

    I also tend to chastise myself for spending a few hours blogging or doing art when I could be doing housework or paid work. But for the mental benefits, as long as my other work gets done, I suppose I should do more arty stuff. Especially when I somehow get more done in 2h work, 1h art and 2h housework than I get done in 6-8h work and housework.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Cassie

    What are you saying “no” to, because it mistakenly feels selfish?

    Calling people I love, just because I would enjoy chatting with them for a bit. I tend to convince myself that they’re probably busy at the moment, because they’ve got XYZ going on, and if I call them I’ll just be an intrusion. So I don’t call. I email, text, or WhatsApp them instead. I know it’s stupid, because I wouldn’t feel intruded on if someone called me. I might have to ask them if I can call them back in a few minutes or something if I’m doing something I can’t get out of (like, getting ready to drive home from the store, and preferring to talk after getting home), but I would enjoy being called. So why do I feel so selfish about wanting to call and talk to people? I dunno. But I really need to figure out a way to get over it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: New Year, New Books, New Whatever | El's Reading Room

Leave a Reply

