Market Research

I was sitting here feeling foiled in my efforts to move forward (strictly situational/emotional) in my various efforts.   So I decided to make an org chart of the things I need to do in order to achieve my goal.  (This is just one goal of many – I would need transparencies to really get “all the things I”m trying to work on simultaneously” displayed properly).

007

So, here you see the ultimate goal of being a stylist & author (they go together, one will build on the other, they build one another up).

There are four chains that come off of the main thread (I added one after I took the picture).  So far we have:  Personal Makeover (no one is going to take a stylist seriously who doesn’t have her own style nailed), Book, Marketing, and Professional Development.

Since I was looking at it, I decided to flip around.  A lot of the ladies who do style stuff seem to do “outfit photos”.  I don’t think I’m all that fabulous, but if that would be a draw, I can start doing a “this is how I wore it” post a few times/wk.  Thoughts?  Not, “do you think other people would like that” but would YOU like that, or would it be too-too-vain?

(SSW clued me in that I’ll need a dedicated blog just for the style stuff, but I’ll wait until I’ve gotten things more polished before I get that going.  When it goes, I’ll want it right, right from the start.  If you’re selling looks – your look needs nailing.  However, that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t practice now!)

Throwing the floor open for suggestions, ideas, criticisms, whatever.  Yes, I want to be a success, but being a blessing is more important.  How can I be a blessing in this endeavor?  Should I give it all up and get my paper so I can do Christian counseling instead?  (I do that, I don’t get paid for it.  Don’t really want to get paid for it, but … okay, that was totally irrelevant).

Talk to me!

10 thoughts on “Market Research

  1. Susan Ashworth

    Here’s the kind of outfit post that I like – an explanation of the process. “I saw this thing and wanted to recreate the look, but then that thing didn’t work out, but in the process I found the other thing and that led to this outfit. Isn’t serendipity wonderful.”

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Ashworth

      And another thing – I’m not interested in what’s currently in or out. I love seeing women who are doing their own thing and making their own clothes. Rock on!

      Like

      Reply
      1. hearthie Post author

        I’m wondering, even looking at the fashion photos, if we as a style culture haven’t left the “in and out” thing for the most part. I can remember any jeans that weren’t pegged being “bell-bottoms” and therefore horrible, but I can think of very few things that are considered equally horrible and unwearable (other than the changing ideals in figure flattery) today.

        PS You’ve been full of good ideas, thank you!!!!

        Like

  2. magistratrium

    I really like outfit photos. I follow a certain fashion blog mainly because the stylist continually puts up multiple outfits, which gives me ideas as to what works so I can duplicate it at home with stuff I already own.

    I enjoy seeing your various outfits. It’s fun to see how you put things together, especially the accessories. My outfits tend to be blah and I know that accessories can really add a lot.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Oh cool. That helps too. And all of this will help me actually use the piles and drifts of accessories I own – I might throw out clothes, but bracelets? Earrings? Nevah! 😀

      Like

      Reply
  3. fiberaddict

    I am TOTALLY not fashion conscious, but I do like peeking at other people’s closets. I’m a jeans/sweats and t-shirt kinda gal, but I want to branch out…..and looking at other women’s choices – and WHY they chose why hey did – helps.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Maeve

    I like a “what’s wrong with this?” Approach as well. Sometimes I’ll put together an outfit, but something feels “off” and I can’t quite put my finger on it. Is it fit, color, pattern, accessories, cosmetics? Learning how to develop an eye for that would be great.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

