I fixed the dress (mostly)

I’m finishing things tonight….

I found out what the problem was.  We went out to date night last night and I was noticing that my LTD was about strangling my poor armpits.  It’s plenty big ’round, so what gives?

Then it came to me.  I do crossfit 3x/wk.  While I haven’t lost any weight yet (I just started cutting food back) I have definitely changed my body composition.  And I have more muscle on my shoulders, through the traps especially.  I double checked my measurements and … oh.  It wasn’t the dress.  It wasn’t some wormhole … there’s longer to travel between the top of my shoulder and my armpit (and bustline).  Well then.

I had previously made the armscye smaller by reducing at the armpit.  I put that distance back in, and my dress fits now.  I have a few adjustments to make at center bust, the lining to sew in properly, and the hem to set, and I’m done.  (And I need to make a quick slip, but that’s a separate garment so doesn’t count).

As is, it’s very pretty and very moi.

I could probably get it done in an hour or so, but now it’s time to clean the kitchen and make supper!  So, tonight.

PS I found somewhere in my house better lit for vlogs, so I will give that another try in the near future.

5 thoughts on “I fixed the dress (mostly)

  1. Feminine But Not Feminist

    I’m glad you posted this, because it relates to something similar that I need to do. I bought this dress on Amazon that is absolutely perfect, apart from the armholes being too small. I can still wear the dress, it’s just that it chafes at my armpits by the end of the day. I’m thinking of just carefully removing the binding, cutting the armholes to a slightly larger size, then sewing on new binding that I’ve already bought. It seems too simple… I’m wondering if you did something different? (Note: I recently picked back up the art of sewing and want to make sure there isn’t a better way to do it before I actually do it.)

    Here’s the link to the dress (hopefully it works):

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00YEMDRMI/ref=ya_aw_od_pi?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      When I go in to alter my dresses, I will let out the shoulder seam – the entire top is too high now.

      However, looking at that dress, and assuming that the armscye is the only problem, and everything else fits, I think your plan is a decent one. You’re tall, so you will want a bit more armscye room than the standard fit, for future reference.

      LOVE that dress, it’s so pretty!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Feminine But Not Feminist

        Thanks Hearthie! I will give it a go then!

        Yeah, everything else about the dress fits perfectly. It’s just the armpit area that needs extending. It’s weird too, because I didn’t think I had big arms/shoulders for my size, but oh well.

        Though I’m not very tall… I’m 5’4. 🙂

        I absolutely LOVE the dress too; it was such a gem of a find! I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on it already.

        Like

      2. hearthie Post author

        Our bodies are so random! It’s not your arms, fwiw – it’s just how high your shoulder is. Length thing, and you are proportionally long. Or the dress might just fit oddly, if that’s the first/only time you’ve found that.

        Like

  2. Feminine But Not Feminist

    Oooh, ok. That makes sense now. **blushing**

    And yes, that is the first time I’ve encountered that. Though in reading some of the reviews for dresses made by that brand, it seems to be how they roll.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

