Wearing History Corset Cover/Blouse: Review

I love this blouse already.  It’s paper thin and comfortable and graceful.   I was careful with my sewing and my finishing, spent some time picking out a seam that was unsightly, and I have a blouse to be proud of.

I love the lines – although I would emphasize that I’d never make this out of anything other than something thin and floaty.  No crisp fabrics need apply.

(This pattern has a peplum, which you can’t see in these pix.  Primarily I think that brings, “easy to tuck” to the party – but I have a long torso, so we don’t need more visual lengthening).

002 007

I did not like the instructions.  The resto-vival historically accurate instructions were pretty unhelpful, and the lack of pictures was unfortunate.  Fortunately I know how to sew a blouse, so I just sewed the blouse.  🙂

Materials:  Linen/Cotton blend from Joanne’s, buttons, beading lace, ribbon.

Difficulty of sewing?  Not especially difficult, if you know basic buttoned shirt assembly and pay attention to the pattern markings.   I chose to use a fair bit of hand-sewing for the finishing, so that lengthened the amount of sewing time.

Changes:  I eliminated the waist stay, and I raised the neckline by 1.5″  (I felt that the original neckline, while wonderful for a corset cover/lingerie piece, simply wouldn’t do for a blouse.  I might put it back down for a nightgown though, it would be wonderfully romantic).

Will I make another one?  I’m not sure yet – if I find the right fabric, absolutely.  And I will be auditioning this later this evening to see if it looks well without foundation garments… if so, I’ll make a nightgown up – I have some voile just begging for use, and my nightgowns are pretty threadbare.

I like this, very much.  Is it my long-sought-after basic blouse?  No.  Onward we press!

4 thoughts on “Wearing History Corset Cover/Blouse: Review

  1. Feminine But Not Feminist

    It’s a pretty blouse Hearthie. 🙂

    I especially like the ribbon at the neckline; that’s a clever touch!

    I also couldn’t help but notice the rose in your hair (which by the way is very pretty too; it’s so long! 🙂 )… Is it a real rose just stuck in there, or a hair clip? If it’s a clip, where did you get it? Inquiring minds want to know… 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Thank you! The ribbon is an intrinsic part of the construction, without the beading lace/ribbon the neckline would gape (okay, it would fall off – esp as originally drafted) it’s a standard bit of construction from back in the day.

      The hair rose is a leather rose on a clip, I bought it at the county fair. This is the addy on the business card I snagged, although I don’t see either of the two flowers (I have a pink daisy too) that I have in stock. You could always ask – her etsy shop doesn’t have half the things her RL shop has. https://www.etsy.com/shop/leathere

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

