Gauze Skirt

For this first tiered skirt, I used periwinkle blue/purple crinkle gauze.  Because this fabric is very casual – and because I’m not even sure it would hold up to a zipper or button – I chos007e to finish the top with an elastic waist.  You’ll never see it, those don’t do anything for me.  Fortunately belts live in this world.  😉

First difference:  Elastic waist.  Simple enough, I make the top tier a couple of inches longer and fold that extra over the elastic.  Easy-peasy.

The fabric is extremely transparent – crinkle gauze is more like thick cheesecloth in texture than it is like most garment fabrics.  So even though there is a ton of volume, which will scrunch up the first tim008e I wash it, I still needed to line this or layer it without fail over a slip or something.  I chose to put in a half-lining, which reaches about to my knees.  I attached the half lining to the bottom of the elastic waist – it hangs free.

Second difference:  Half-lining.

Standard treatments for my tiered skirts include embroidery as a seam finish/volume control/detail.  I started doing this years back, have never regretted the extra time or thread (except while I’m sewing those endless seams), and did the same here.   You can see this on the inside pic, above.  French seams on the skirt, 001I didn’t put them in the lining, because I widened it by using godets and I wasn’t in the mood.

Another standard sewing thing:  I start from the bottom up.  The bottom tier is four panels, each of which is 55″ wide.  That’s 220 inches – or nearly 20 feet – of sewing!  I also gather *after* I hem.   So, sew panels together, french seams, then hem, then run gather stitches.  Then sew panels on the next tier, run gather stitches (but don’t pull), and pin bottom layer to next layer up, attach, repeat.  That means that the last thing I do takes the least time, which helps with the patience factor.

Fabric notes:  Crinkle gauze turned out to be very easy to work with insofar as slipperiness is concerned.  Sewed right up, easy peasy.  I wouldn’t try to put a zipper into this, shape it into anything remotely tailored, or expect it to last for more than a year or so.  The weave is very open, and it’s crinkle gauze – it will crinkle up and “shrink” once I wash it (not really shrink, because the seams won’t get smaller, but it will look more close fitting).  Perfectly suited for a peasant skirt with lots of gathers, or a peasant blouse with lots of gathers… can’t think of much else I’d use it for.  But for what it is, it’s fine.

Sartorial elegance isn’t my thing today, I’m about to head in for a nap, but I styled this right quick the way I’ll wear it most of the time.    It’s very comfortable, and entirely suited for my climate, where it stays 75+ for five or more months of the year.

4 thoughts on “Gauze Skirt

  1. Elspeth

    Not only does the skirt look amazing on you, but the results of the Crossfit are so visible, Hearth. Wow!

    I actually have a lot of sewing happening here. Withholding pics and pins for reasons that will be apparent when I am finally done by mid week next week. Can’t wait to get your thoughts!

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      I’m looking forward to it! 🙂

      Thank you – I needed to hear that. What with one thing and another, I haven’t been able to hit the box this week and I feel flabby and grouchy. Maybe I should just drop out a few pushups, lol.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

