Beauty and Infatuation

Those of you who don’t know, I have another blog where I discuss religious topics, called Hands, Heart, Hearth.  Today I wrote about a topic that crosses over to some degree, so if you’d like to consider the purpose of Beauty (with the capital B), come on over and take a gander.  I feel like I just had a huge weight removed and some of my life’s work clarified.

https://hearthtobelovely.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/beauty-goodness-truth/

You may not know this, because I find it difficult to put into words, but I really am daffy in love with Beauty.  I am very easily affected by my surroundings, whether visual or audible or scent or touch – I’m your gal for perfume oils, silk nightgowns, and … well, you all *know* how I am about color.  (You don’t really though.  I’ve stopped and thanked God for a shade of yellow on a ginkgo leaf floating by on the sidewalk, and there are shades of blue green that cause me to lose all reason and restraint).

Sometimes my surroundings grieve my heart – I live on a very busy street, and my front yard is a mess (gosh I hate weeding – all that work and they always come back).  Now we’re on strict water restrictions, with a potential 10K fine for overuse… so not only my yard is turning brown and crunchy, so is everyone else’s.  I long for trees, a babbling brook, a cessation of traffic and noise and bother.  I really long to be surrounded by beauty.   It matters to me.

Stingray gets a pile of props for directing me to some sources so that I can be reminded Who sent me on the road to loving Beauty in all its forms so unreasonably.  I get twisted around myself and feel guilty for it, far too often.  And I forget – why am I so hungry?  Why does this matter?  Yes, I am sensitive to beauty, and yes, it’s pretty silly when I have to give away bedding because the color is making me angry (has happened).  But Beauty matters.  Beauty and Truth and Goodness and Purity – they’re related, intertwined, and work together.

The next shirt for my husband.  Palest blue linen with steel grey details.  His hair is such a cold brown that it has pewter highlights, and these are two of his favorite colors as well as suiting his coloring perfectly.  Yes, I'm excited.

The next shirt for my husband. Palest blue linen with steel grey details. His hair is such a cold brown that it has pewter highlights, and these are two of his favorite colors as well as suiting his coloring perfectly. Yes, I’m excited.

So, maybe I’ll stop apologizing (even in my own head!) for how excited I get when I see how the project I’m making is coming together, or how the colors I’m using will suit the person I’m making it for, or …. well, any number of things.   Beauty matters, and that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

