Statement Jewelry

Statement jewelry is beautiful, and if you want to wear it… good.  Your assignments are

1) To make sure it doesn’t overwhelm you in size or color (easily done, watch your proportions here).

2)  To understand that you need to set it off appropriately – you don’t wear a statement necklace over a floral dress, for instance.  And your other jewelry should match it – DISCREETLY.    (Giant gold necklace should be paired with small gold earrings in the same style, but let the necklace talk.  Or other way ’round).

This is what is meant by the advice to “take one thing off before you leave the house” – which is, the way we dress these days, somewhat the opposite of the advice I’d give.   If you want to be dressed up, put something special ON.  (Coco Chanel’s advice was given to women who would wear a bracelet, rings, brooch, necklace, earrings, hat and gloves.  Use her advice when you start wearing all that and need to bring it down).

3)  Statement jewelry should be worn only by those who can “carry” it – the rest of us don’t need to be bothered about it.

4)  Love it or leave it off.

9 thoughts on “Statement Jewelry

  1. Maeve

    A good lipstick and awesome piece of jewelry are often all you need to go from ho-hum to WOW!

    Right now I’m all into cuff bracelets…the bigger the better. And watches (not so secret vice thank you Steinmart)

    Like

    Reply
      1. Maeve

        LOL Hearthie – agreed – and my jewelry IS serious business. Thing is, I have to be careful about the necklaces sometimes so that I’m not overwhelmed (or it’ s not in conflict/competing with “the girls” so to speak). In those cases, a really boss cuff (or collection of bracelets) can do that job nicely. Also – with sleeveless/short sleeved tops, wrist/arm jewelry can be a good choice. (again, thank you Steinmart) Ahem.

        Like

  2. superslaviswife

    Something I find surprising is that when I am “under dressed” for it, a nice piece of jewelry becomes more statement, but when I am a little more dressed up, it looks subtle. It’s sort of the same effect spikes have on preppy or goth clothes. Spikes on a goth leather jacket? Standard, underdone sometimes. Spikes on a preppy jacket? Statement.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      I need to add pictures to EVERYTHING… 😀 Okay. In this case, a ‘statement’ piece is a huge and flashy piece of jewelry. Statement necklaces, in particular, are very trendy right now.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. superslaviswife

        It’s not your fault I’m fashion illiterate. :p

        But I do think subtler pieces can make a statement when worn in a way that draws attention to them. Even if they aren’t statement jewelry.

        Like

      2. hearthie Post author

        Oh yes, they can! What’s the point of jewelry that doesn’t? Which is why I need to take a picture and add a definition to this page when it hits the book, and you’ve just shown me that. 🙂

        Like

  3. Jenny

    I love pearls, plain white pearls. Also, I’m drawn very much to delicate jewelry. Rarely do I wear statement pieces, but sometimes I’ll find an antique necklace that I love and want to show off. Or I’ll use a necklace to bring color around my face when I’m wearing a color that doesn’t suit me.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      But you and I don’t do much in the way of statement jewelry. Which is also totally fine. It’s not an easy look to wear – it takes over most people. Pearls are PERFECT for you.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

