We are all flowers in God’s garden

One of the key things I’d like to get across as I work on style advising is that we neither look the same nor should we.  What I want for you is to look your best, to look like your *self*.  There’s no point in trying to look like someone else, you’ll try, you’ll fail, you’ll beat yourself up.  Why hit that cycle of pain?

Instead, finding your style and colors should be about discovering who you are.   You can shoot for being the most beautiful *you* – and you can win. You can win that every day of your life, becoming more and more yourself, more and more beautiful, more and more stylish.

Think of it like this:  The world of fashion is often like the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland… remember the gardeners frantically painting the white roses red, because the Queen only wanted red roses in her garden?

God is *not* the Queen of Hearts.  If you look around you, at any part of nature, you’ll see that He likes variety.  Examine the myriad flowers that He has put in creation – would you really want to be rid of violets and peonies and bluebells to see a few more rosebushes?  Examine the birds of the air – eagles are magnificent, but a robin chirping cheerfully at you lifts the heart.  Would you want to be rid of the robins?  And which is more beautiful – a tiger or a lion?

God made us different.

So let’s find out what sort of flower you are…

8 thoughts on “We are all flowers in God’s garden

  1. Cranberry

    There’s no point in trying to look like someone else, you’ll try, you’ll fail, you’ll beat yourself up. Why hit that cycle of pain?

    Yeah but…why did this not occur to me until my 30s? So much heartache over clothing!

    I have ruminations on this. Much of it has to do with info overload, the “socialization” required of the schooled-but-barely-educated climate and its attendant slings and arrows of fate (and fashion). And the impulse of young women to follow whatever gets the pretty girls the attention of the hot guys. Nevermind that no one knows anything about themselves at that age.

    I’ll stop now. Thanks Hearth.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Oh absolutely. Wanting what we can’t have fuels spending. You have to create artificial hunger. Satiated people are pickier.

      I actually don’t mind fashion, but fashion is something that should only be approached once you understand your style.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Cranberry

    You have simultaneously encapsulated my feelings on fashion and my philosophy on raising my children with a sense of self and how they frame themselves by their dress and actions.

    OK, so the teen years can be a time of trying on, but once 18,19 or so, it’s time to step out of the dressing room and you’d better look fabulous even if jeans and a t-shirt is your thing.

    Jeans and a tee are classic, but how do you wear it? I have a few hundred combos I feel comfortable wearing. Not always t-shirts. Not always jeans. YOU, not clothes.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Elspeth

    Excellent thoughts, Hearth. As usual. I was thinking about our conversation where you pegged me as “classic”. My style has been fairly consistent. I can clearly remember my stepsister calling me “Plain Jane”, not because of my looks (I was cute enough), but because of what she considered my lack of fashion sense.

    But I did have a sense. It just wasn’t hers. to this day she’s more likely to wear am edgy hairstyle, gaudy bigger jewelry, more makeup, and a wider range of colors than I do.

    I figured our early on that my style is understated and that I needed to drape my hourglass well so that I don’t look like a cow or a street walker. The biggest challenge I think is nailing down the colors, which you have helped tremendously with. I mean, what’s more classic than black or white?

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Yay – I’m glad that I helped. 🙂 As for classics vs. more ornamented types, the twain shall never meet. It makes me very sad and lonely when I can’t wear flowers or five bracelets or long dangly earrings… and I’m pretty sure any and all of those things makes your skin crawl with “too much stuff!”

      Like

      Reply
  4. Elspeth

    I do put the occasional flower in my hair. I’m wearing one in that picture you used for my style analysis. But when I do that, everything else is very quiet. LOL.

    Like

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Once I braided flowers into my hair for Easter service. Had an old man stop me to tell me how glad he was to see someone really dressing up. I need to do that more often.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Fit Friday: Pre-Valentine’s Edition | Loving in the Ruins

Leave a Reply

