Biscuit Recipe

Baking Powder Biscuits (from my godmother)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup shortening (preferably lard)
  • 2/3 cups milk

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Sift together dry ingredients.  Cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Add milk all at once, stir only until dough follows fork around bowl.  Turn out onto lightly floured surface, knead gently 1/2 minute.  Pat or roll 1/2″ thick.  Cut with biscuit cutter.  Put on ungreased cookie sheet for 10-12 minutes (watch carefully – bottoms brown first!).

This makes a light crispy biscuit.

On Monday last, my husband came home and told me that he’d done some research and had found that his insomnia might be caused by insufficient carbs in his diet.  We’ve been doing a loose primal diet for the last couple of years – loose because we’re rather over-fond of sweets, and no one is taking my dairy.  But it’s been more than two years since the last bit of bread crossed my lips.

To say that I approached the idea of reintroducing wheat to my diet with trepidation is an understatement.  I’d had a bit here and there in sauces and hadn’t reacted well to its presence.  And I was feeling bloated and heavy from the Christmas feasting.  The last thing I wanted was something to make me feel worse!

But, as my husband felt that I needed only to control my portions, I gave it a go.  One slice of sourdough bread was a symphony.  And the bits and pieces of wheat products I’ve indulged in this week have been lovely.  My husband claims that the buttermilk pancakes he ate on Sunday gave him shivers…

I find breadish things much more filling than I did two years ago.  Yes, the pancake was fabulous.  I ate one and didn’t want another bite until mid-afternoon.  However, it’s not merely about the eating – not for me.  I was quite a good baker, once upon a time.  I missed it.  I missed the process of creation.  And I didn’t realize how much I missed the whole thing until I took it back.

I never thought I’d get *bread* back, not in this life.  It is an unexpected joy.   And I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

