Style Basics: The Pretty Dress

The next item on the “must haves list” is a pretty dress.  I hope that this won’t be your only pretty dress!  You may substitute in your white blouse and dark skirt until you are able to find this special item, but certainly you can’t live your whole life in one outfit.

What sort of pretty dress you choose is going to depend on your lifestyle and the events that come into it.  You must be honest with yourself here!  While your pretty dress can go to church or date night or most parties, only you know which you spend more time attending.

For instance, I attend a very casual church, but I go out to dinner with my husband quite regularly and we almost never attend dressy parties.  Therefore, my “pretty dress” is going to be mostly a date dress.  If the situation was reversed, and I attended a church that still dressed up… I would have a nice quiet dress that I could sparkle up when we went on the town.  Likewise, if we went to a lot of parties, I would choose something that could be accessorized with endless variety (the classic LBD*).   My really dressy dress stays in the closet most of the year, but it’s stunning and I love it.

Your special dress should again, be perfectly fitted for you.  It doesn’t have to be a timeless classic unless you truly spend a lot of time in it.  I don’t know a woman who doesn’t love to buy a new dress.  Simply make certain that your dress fits and looks good on YOU.

*The LBD doesn’t have to be black!  It should be a basic neutral, suited to the dominant season in your area.  It should fit and flatter you, which may well let out the slim sheath dress that has probably popped into your head at this point.  My LBD equivalent is my white linen dress – which plays extremely well with others.

2 thoughts on “Style Basics: The Pretty Dress

  1. Pingback: Outfit Post: Styling the LWD | Hearth's Rose Garden

Leave a Reply

